主页spacer>预览>「根源」, 2/5

spacer

薛德兰:

现在我们已有解答起源问题的科学理论,还需要以神去解释吗?

黎敦:

解释世界起源的科学理论并不必然排除神,但出於自然论的观点却有意识地不包括祂。

许多人以古典的确定性观点理解这个世界。从这观点来看,如果对世界一个前期状态有完整的描述,在逻辑上我们可以确定地预测它的任何後期状态。在这世界观内,预测状态与其实际发生的会完全吻合。

现代观点以概率理解世界。我们可以评估事件发生的可能性,但不能绝对肯定。这个世界观也具有可描述的一致性,[註 1 ] 这种一致性仍然反映造物者的理性。它不能證明神的存在,但也不能否定这个可能性。

薛德兰:

众所周知,爱因斯坦曾经说过「神不玩骰子」。这句说话反映了他不大接受这种随机性的想法。现在看来,毕竟,神确实和世界玩骰子。

黎敦:

并非如此,因为有神的旨意,这事实上是《圣经》一贯的焦点。

薛德兰:

我不明白神的旨意如何与概率有关。

黎敦:

按照现代世界观,每个预测都有一个发生概率,它实际上指导著我们对未观察得的随机事件的预期,以减少惊讶。当一个预测现象已经发生和被观察到,无论其相关的预测概率是高是低,它已是一个绝对确实的现实情况。

预测概率在结果发生後有不同的含义,它表明这个预测可否被接纳为最合理的解释。

薛德兰:

我明白了。概率指导我们对未观测到的随机事件的预期,并对已发生的事情的解释给予我们相对的信心,但已发生的结果却是确定的。儘管如此,这跟神的旨意又有什麽关连?

黎敦:

全能神的旨意确保了他决意的事件会实际发生。在一个确定性的世界观,这种干预将涉及到超越自然规律的神蹟;从概率性观点来看,神的干预就是事件按祂旨意发生,不论其预测的概率是多少。

薛德兰:

那麽,这如何适用於我们对起源的理解?

黎敦:

史蒂芬・霍金和 Leonard Mlodinow 合著的《大设计》是一本流行的书。整个第七章是「乍看下的奇蹟」。[註 2 ] 我们可以很容易地看到神的旨意是这个奇蹟的最佳解释。

作者在书中提到,地球可以维持生命是因为它按著一个相当接近正圆形的轨道绕行单一恒星。我们也非常幸运,地球处於太阳系中一条狭窄可居住区域内,它的温度容许液态水的存在,这样生命才能发展。

我们存在的事实进一步限制了允许生命的环境特性,如像碳元素的存在。从这个「人择原理」,我们可以估算出标誌著我们宇宙诞生的大爆炸发生约一百多亿年前。估算年龄後来被确认。

除了上述的「弱人择原理」,还有较强的一个限制著我们整个宇宙的可能特性。自然规律像是个经过极度微调的系统,在不破坏生命发展的可能性的条件下没有什麽可被改变的空间。

霍金与 Mlodinow 接著说:「这个宇宙和法则似乎是为了支持人类存在而量身打造的设计,如果我们要存在,丝毫没有改变的空间。这真的不容易解释,也让人很自然地想问为何会如此。」[註 3 ]

「可能」并不等於「现实」,在预测的结果被观测得之前,它只是存在於我们心理世界的预期。我们在这个宇宙的存在是一个现实,因此就必然须要一个解释。

如果我们不局限於一种自然主义的世界观,那麽全能神的创造就是比宇宙进化的随机过程更好地解释我们的存在。

薛德兰:

即使我接受这个宇宙起源的观点,它仍然不能解释地球上生命本身的发展。生物进化作为人类起源的解释又如何?

进化论似乎充分解释了大量的实證观察。我知道,如果我们从原始汤至今天的生物多样性,计算整个事件链条的概率,进化听起来像一个疯狂的理论。但是「自然选择」似乎达成了「目的」的功能,它将整个链条分割成为多个阶段,令它们在足够的时间内似乎更可能发生,而在我们的过去实在有很多时间。

黎敦:

我必须指出,创造与进化不是一个零和遊戏。神达成自己的旨意时并不局限於暂停自然规律或超越自然过程的活动。如果整个宇宙是祂所创造的,我们可预期它的规律和过程也是祂的工具。自然主义的进化理论显然不涉及神,但它并不意味著神必然地从任何进化理论中被排除。

正如弗朗西斯・柯林斯(Francis S. Collins)说明,[註 4 ] 天然发生的 DNA 突变,估计以约每代每一亿个碱基对一次的速度发生。因为我们每个人都有每组三十亿个碱基对的两个基因组,我们每人都有大约六十个突变是我们的父母没有的。

大多数这些突变发生在具有很少或没有後果的基因组的部分,一些则发生在造成损害和降低繁殖能力的部分,只有在极少数情况下,突变会提供轻度选择优势。如果它有效提高繁殖或生存能力,或在资源稀缺的情况下提升竞争力的实质优势,这就变得很重要。

所以,演化一个能够引致实际正差的优点,机率是非常非常小的。这就是为什麽进化基本上是随机过程,通过自然选择的帮助下,还需要这麽长的时间。

薛德兰:

在这种情况下,神的参与会有什麽分别?

黎敦:

单凭时间并不能保證随机性的结果会发生,神的旨意却可以。即使神没有导致特定的突变发生,祂在不同时间点的意识选择代替自然选择便改变了进化发展的方向。

不过,〈创世记〉的简洁创造叙述留下了大量空间,容纳广泛的可能观点。[註 5 ]

神导进化论普遍认为,神用进化过程产生了在这个地球上的各种形式生命。极致有神进化论者认为,神的造物过程中至少有三个超自然的创造:物质、第一生命和人的灵魂。在创造物质与生命後,所有动物的生物体,包括人的身体,通过自然法则演变。

任何更多的超自然创造行动的信仰可以被称为极简创造论,因为它认为神在创造过程中超自然介入至少四次。渐进创造论者则相信神超自然介入许多次,在超自然介入点之间,生物以微进化过程发展。

脚注:

  1. 见 史蒂芬・霍金、伦纳德・Mlodinow 著,郭兆林、周念萦译,《大设计》(台北:大块文化,2011),页 77。[返回 ]
  2. 见 霍金、Mlodinow,《大设计》,165-185。[返回 ]
  3. 霍金、Mlodinow,《大设计》,181。[返回 ]
  4. 见 Francis S. Collins, The Language of God: a scientist presents evidence for belief (New York: Free Press, 2006), 131。[返回 ]
  5. 见 Norman L. Geisler, The Big Book of Christian Apologetics, An A to Z Guide (Grand Rapids, MI: BakerBooks, 2012), 154。[返回 ]
     

继续阅读spacer::spacer购买
spacer::spacer01spacer::spacer02spacer::spacer03spacer::spacer04spacer::spacer05
基督徒核心信仰

[ 页首 ]


Copyright © 2018 Vitus L.H. Chak
版权所有 · 不得转载

Home > Read > Beginnings, 2/5

spacer

Sitara:

Is God still needed in the explanation, now that we have the scientific theories of origins?

Nathan:

A scientific theory that explains the origin of the world doesn't necessarily exclude God. But a naturalistic theory by intention doesn't include him.

Many people hold the classical deterministic view of the world. It asserts that logically we can predict with certainty any state of the universe if given a complete description of its earlier state. The predicted state, in this view, is as good as its actual occurrence.

The modern view sees the world in terms of probabilities. We can assess how probable an occurrence will be, but can't be absolutely certain about it. This worldview is also one with describable consistencies, [Note 1 ] and such consistencies still reflect the rationality of the Creator. It doesn't prove the existence of God, and it doesn't deny it either.

Sitara:

It's well known that Einstein once said "God does not play dice." This reflected his discomfort about the idea of randomness in nature. Now it seems, after all, God does play dice with the universe.

Nathan:

No, not really, because there's divine purpose, which is always the focus of the Bible.

Sitara:

I don't see how God's purpose relates to probability.

Nathan:

The modern worldview assigns a probability to each occurrence prediction, which in effect manages our expectation of unobserved random events to reduce surprises. But an outcome is certain when it has happened and is observed, regardless of the probability associated with it.

The prediction probability of the outcome carries a different meaning after its occurrence. It suggests how good the prediction is as an explanation.

Sitara:

I see. Probability guides our expectation regarding an unobserved random event, and gives confidence on the explanation of what happened. And the observed outcome is a certainty. But still, how is God's purpose related?

Nathan:

The purpose of the all-powerful God ensures that the event he wills actually occurs. In a deterministic worldview, it would mostly involve miracles that suggest a suspension of natural laws. In the probabilistic view, God's intervention is simply the event's occurrence according to his purpose regardless of its prediction probability.

Sitara:

How then does this apply to the understanding of origins?

Nathan:

Stephen Hawking and Leonard Mlodinow coauthored The Grand Design, which is a popular book. The entire seventh chapter is about "The Apparent Miracle." [Note 2 ] We can readily see God's purpose as an explanation for that.

The authors say that the Earth can sustain life because it follows a nearly circular orbit around a single star, and we're lucky that the Earth is within the narrow habitable zone in our solar system, which is required for the right planetary temperatures for liquid water to exist, so life can develop.

The fact of our existence restricts the characteristics of environments that allow life, such as the presence of elements like carbon. From this anthropic principle, we can estimate that the big bang, which marked the birth of our universe, occurred between ten to twenty billion years ago. This has been confirmed.

In addition to this weak anthropic principle, there's a strong one that restricts the possible characteristics of our entire universe. The laws of nature form a system that's extremely fine-tuned, and very little can be altered without destroying the possibility of the development of life as we know it.

Hawking and Mlodinow conclude, "Our universe and its laws appear to have a design that both is tailor-made to support us and, if we are to exist, leaves little room for alteration. That is not easily explained, and raises the natural question of why it is that way." [Note 3 ]

What’s probable is not reality. Before a predicted outcome is observed, it remains only in our mental world of expectations. Our existence in this universe is a reality, and therefore a certainty that necessitates an explanation.

If we’re not confined to a naturalistic worldview, the purposed creation by the all-powerful God is a much better explanation for our existence than the random processes of cosmic evolution.

Sitara:

Even if I accept this view of cosmology, it still doesn't explain the development of life on Earth. What about biological evolution as an explanation of human origin?

There's an abundance of empirical observations that evolution seems to adequately explain. I know if we work out the odds of the entire chain of events from the primordial soup to the biodiversity today, evolution would sound like a crazy theory. But the idea of natural selection seems to perform the function of a purpose. It breaks up the entire chain into stages that seem much more probable to have occurred given enough time, something we have had plenty of in the past.

Nathan:

I must point out that creation and evolution need not be in a zero-sum game. God is not confined to activities that suspend natural laws or override natural processes in order to achieve his purpose. If the entire universe is a work of his creation, we would expect its rules and processes to be his tools. The naturalistic theory of evolution obviously doesn't involve God, but it doesn't mean that God is necessarily excluded from any theory of evolution.

As Francis S. Collins illustrates, [Note 4 ] naturally occurring mutations in DNA are estimated to happen at a rate of about one in every hundred million base pairs per generation. Since we all have two genomes of three billion base pairs each, we all have roughly sixty new mutations that are absent in our parents.

Most of those mutations occur in parts of the genome that have little or no consequence. Some occur in parts that cause harm and reduce reproductive fitness. Only on rare occasions, a mutation arises by chance that offers slight degree of selective advantage. The advantage becomes important if it enhances reproductive or survival fitness, or competitive ability where resources are scarce.

So the chance for even one advantage to develop and be able to cause a positive difference is really very small. That's why evolution as an essentially random process, helped by natural selection, still requires so much time.

Sitara:

At least it seems that evolution is an adequate explanation already. What would God's involvement change in this case?

Nathan:

Time alone doesn't guarantee the occurrence of an outcome of chance. The will of the all-powerful God does. Even if God didn't cause specific mutations to occur, the replacement of natural selection by purposed selection at different points in time changed the direction of evolutionary development.

However, the brevity of the creation account in Genesis does leave a lot of room for a wide range of views. [Note 5 ]

Theistic evolution broadly believes that God used evolution as his means of producing the various forms of physical life on this planet. Maximal theistic evolutionists hold that God performed at least three supernatural acts of creation: matter, first life, and the human soul. After the initial creation of matter and life, all animal organisms, including the human body, evolved by natural laws.

The belief in any more supernatural acts of creation could be called a minimal form of creationism, which holds that God supernaturally intervened at least four times in creation. Progressive creationists believe that God supernaturally intervened many more times. Between the points of supernatural intervention, development took place through microevolution.

FOOTNOTES:

  1. Stephen W. Hawking and Leonard Mlodinow, The Grand Design (London: Bantam Press, 2010), 93. [Back ]
  2. Hawking and Mlodinow, The Grand Design, 189-211. [Back ]
  3. Hawking and Mlodinow, The Grand Design, 207. [Back ]
  4. Francis S. Collins, The Language of God: a scientist presents evidence for belief (New York: Free Press, 2006), 131. [Back ]
  5. Norman L. Geisler, The Big Book of Christian Apologetics, An A to Z Guide (Grand Rapids, MI: BakerBooks, 2012), 154. [Back ]
     

Read Onspacer::spacerBUY NOW
Prefacespacer::spacer01spacer::spacer02spacer::spacer03spacer::spacer04spacer::spacer05
Core Beliefs

[ Top of Page ]


Copyright © 2018 Vitus L.H. Chak
All Rights Reserved