主页spacer>预览>「根源」, 4/5

spacer

薛德兰:

这里我感到有些奇怪,我还以为亚当和夏娃是按神形象被造的,这形象已经在他们的人性内。但保罗似乎表明这是个未来的实现。为什麽?有些东西失去了吗?

黎敦:

这是非常重要的观察。我们会很快回来探讨这个问题。

亚当和夏娃是被创造为可以运用自由意志,有感受及可进行理性思考的人。他们是有意识的个体,与创造主神及彼此间都有密切的关係。

他们在日常的选择中经历自由。他们享受彼此间及与其他生物的和谐并有趣的互动。他们在关係中感到爱和亲密。他们在学习运用自己的能力及在管理世界而对它了解增多的过程中,感到满足和经历成长。

他们的理性令他们有能力沟通、观察、理解和创新,例如他们能为被带来的生物命名。[註 1 ] 当他们生活、工作和学习时,他们很快很明显地察觉到他们的有限性。

神充分尊重他们的灵性本质,就是他们的自由意志。祂固然有能力强迫一个人的意志,[註 2 ] 但祂选择了尊重其自由。他们有全权行使这自由,所以亦要为自己的选择负全责。

他们是有限的人类,永远无法反映神的伟大,甚至整个被造世界亦只能暗示祂的无限。他们是神的形象,反映祂的道德属性。

你正确地指出人性本质的神的形象已被破坏,我们现在需要明白它的原因。

我们在〈创世记〉的叙述读到神在广阔的伊甸园内种下了各类很漂亮的树木,它们结出美味的水果。神还在那里放置生命树和分别善恶树。[註 3 ]

请你读出这段经文,可以吗?

薛德兰:

经文说:「耶和华神将那人安置在伊甸园,使他修理看守。耶和华神吩咐他说:『园中各样树上的果子,你可以随意吃;只是分别善恶树上的果子,你不可吃,因为你吃的日子必定死。』」[註 4 ]

看来,在前文中描述的伊甸园里,亚当和夏娃根本不需要吃禁果。但是被禁止的树的名字真的很奇怪。它是什麽意思?

黎敦:

旧约内的一节经文描述无辜的小孩子为「不知善恶的儿女」[註 5 ]。所以,知道善恶意指道德判断的能力。

但它还有另一种意思。神仁慈的创造原意,清楚表明在祂命定的规範,定义什麽是好的。邪恶是从祂旨意的任何偏离。祂的创造原意是整个被造世界的道德準则,因为祂是造物主,一切的主宰。所以,神知道善恶因为祂订明一切法则。

亚当和夏娃在原来被造的情况下是在完全遵行创造主旨意的状态。分别善恶树的存在是提醒他们拥有定义他们灵性的东西,就是他们有自由去选择,通过服从而留在完美幸福和与神的密切关係内。

薛德兰:

我读了有关引诱的那部分经文,但没有看见他们被诱惑去实质获取的是什麽。

黎敦:

魔鬼通过建议的意念去诱惑他们。事实上,这是从那时起他引诱每个人的主要方式,包括耶稣在祂工作开始时。亚当、夏娃和耶稣有完全的人性,他们有未被削弱的灵性灵敏度,所以他们清楚意识到魔鬼的存在和他建议的意念。但建议不是强制,意志的自由仍是完整的。

彼得提醒我们,魔鬼今天一样努力地工作。他说:「务要谨守、警醒,因为你们的仇敌魔鬼如同吼叫的狮子,遍地遊行,寻找可吞吃的人。」[註 6 ] 魔鬼能够很巧妙地将他的建议混合到我们的思想流。

那迷惑人的有无与伦比的技巧,可将虚假和半真半假的想法与真理无缝地混合。他挑战这对夫妻对神的话语和属性的了解,他建议他们重新诠释神的命令,并质疑祂的动机。

夏娃的回应是渴望她所认定的智慧,即神的知道善恶。她吃那果子,然後亚当也是如此做了。

藉这个选择的行动,他们拒绝了他们的限制,撕断与神的关係,远离神以及自己在创造秩序中的位置,划分出自己独立存在的王国,在那里他们也能像神,有权力去主宰规则。他们成为自己世界的中心。

当神要亚当和夏娃面对自己的过错时,他们并没有承认自己的错误行为,并没有悔改,反而指责别人甚至神。这清楚地表明,这不是一个无心的失误,而是一个经过思考的意识选择。

薛德兰:

我刚有一些想法。

我们在重视人类普世自由、平等和权利的文化中长大。我们一般认为正确的,是要竭力令自己脱离任何束缚而成为一个独立的人,设定自己的目标,规划自己的路线,并力求掌握自己的命运。因此,我不经意地觉得这对夫妻的选择是人性的提升而不是沉沦。

但想深一层,我意识到这是一个正确的想法套用於一个错误的个案。我们的文化坚持权利和自由的普世价值时,是相对於与我们对等的一个隐含的权力方。他们同是人类,在理想的民主情况下,被同意他们行使权力的人民给予临时许可,为人民的真正利益以最佳意图去管治。

这情况并不相同,权力方是拥有我们的仁慈创造主。祂没有未被满足的需要,却能提供我们所需的一切。祂完全知道什麽是对我们最好的,并有无限的资源,带给我们永恒的好处。我们不对等。使自己与祂撕裂真的是死一样的糟糕。

黎敦:

这确实是一个很好的观点。

薛德兰:

他们可以因事先不知道後果而至少减轻部分责任吗?

黎敦:

他们知道神的爱和祂的话,这便足以令他们服从他们的创造主。神当然不希望我们的顺从是出於对後果的恐惧,我们的顺服一定要有意识地出自爱神的心。

薛德兰:

我们真的能抗拒诱惑吗?人类是否注定不能逃避受诱惑时的失败?

黎敦:

受诱惑时跌倒并不是由於原来人性的任何限制,而仅仅是自由意志的一个错误选择。耶稣證明了这一点。祂完全的人性在旷野四十天受试探,最後成功经过诱惑,没有跌倒。[註 7 ]

脚注:

  1. 创世记 2:19-20。[返回 ]
  2. 见 箴言 21:1。[返回 ]
  3. 见 创世记 2:8-9。[返回 ]
  4. 创世记 2:15-17。[返回 ]
  5. 申命记 1:39。[返回 ]
  6. 彼得前书 5:8。[返回 ]
  7. 见 马太福音 4:1-11。[返回 ]
     

继续阅读spacer::spacer购买
spacer::spacer01spacer::spacer02spacer::spacer03spacer::spacer04spacer::spacer05
基督徒核心信仰

[ 页首 ]


Copyright © 2018 Vitus L.H. Chak
版权所有 · 不得转载

Home > Read > Beginnings, 4/5

spacer

Sitara:

I see something strange here. I thought Adam and Eve were created in the image of God, and this was already in their human nature. But Paul seems to suggest that it's a future attainment. Why? Is something missing or lost here?

Nathan:

That's an important observation. We'll soon return to it.

Adam and Eve were created as persons of free will who could feel and reason. They were conscious beings in very close relationships with each other and with God their Maker.

They experienced freedom in their daily choices. They enjoyed harmony and fun with each other and with the other creatures. They felt love and intimacy in relationships. They felt fulfillment and growth in exercising their abilities and in discovering about the world as they learned to govern it.

Their faculty of reason enabled them to communicate, observe, understand, and innovate, for example in their assigned task of naming the creatures brought to them. [Note 1 ] As they lived, worked, and learned, it would soon be obvious to them that they had limitations.

God fully honored something in their spiritual being. It was the freedom of their will. He certainly has the power to force their will, [Note 2 ] but he chose to respect its freedom. The exercise of this will was their full responsibility, and so they had full accountability for their choices.

They were finite beings who could never reflect the infinite greatness of God, which even the entire creation could only suggest. It was the character of God that they reflected.

You observed correctly that this image of God in human nature is being damaged, and we need to see why.

We read in the Genesis narrative that God planted a garden in Eden with all kinds of trees that were beautiful and that produced delicious fruit. He also placed there the tree of life and the tree of the knowledge of good and evil. [Note 3 ]

Would you please read these verses here?

Sitara:

It says, "The Lord God placed the man in the Garden of Eden to tend and watch over it. But the Lord God warned him, 'You may freely eat the fruit of every tree in the garden—except the tree of the knowledge of good and evil. If you eat its fruit, you are sure to die.'" [Note 4 ]

It's quite clear that, in the Garden of Eden described in the preceding text, Adam and Eve had no need at all to disobey by eating the forbidden fruit. But the name of the forbidden tree is really weird. What does it mean?

Nathan:

A verse in the Old Testament talks about innocent little ones as "children who do not yet know good from bad." [Note 5 ] So knowing good and evil means moral discernment.

There's also another meaning. God's benevolent creation intention, as expressed in the norms he ordains, is what defines good. Evil is any deviation from his purpose. His will is the moral code for the entire creation because he's the Creator and owner of everything. So God knows good and evil because he prescribes the rules.

Adam and Eve were in their created state of full accordance with the Maker's intention. The presence of the tree of the knowledge of good and evil was just a simple and constant reminder of something they had that defined them as spiritual beings. They had the freedom to choose to remain in their perfect bliss and fellowship with their Maker by obeying him.

Sitara:

I read the temptation part, but don't see what they were really tempted to gain from eating the forbidden fruit.

Nathan:

The devil tempted them by suggesting ideas. In fact, this is the primary way he has tempted every human ever since, including Jesus at the start of his ministry. Adam, Eve, and Jesus were fully human with untainted spiritual sensitivity. So they were conscious of the devil's presence and his suggestions. But suggestion is not coercion. The freedom of their will was intact.

Peter reminds us that the devil is working just as hard today. He says, "Stay alert! Watch out for your great enemy, the devil. He prowls around like a roaring lion, looking for someone to devour." [Note 6 ] The devil is very skillful at mixing his suggestions into our streams of thoughts.

The deceiver has unmatched skill in mixing falsehood and half-truths with real truths. He challenged the couple's knowledge of God's word and character. He suggested that they reinterpret God's command and question his motive.

Eve responded with a craving for what she saw as wisdom; namely, God's knowledge of good and evil. She ate the fruit, and then Adam did as well.

So they rejected their limitations, tore themselves away from God and from their place in the creation order, and carved out their own realm of separate existence where they could be like God with the power to dictate the rules as they please. They became the center of their own world.

When God confronted Adam and Eve later, they didn't confess their wrongdoing, didn't repent, and instead blamed someone else, even him. This clearly shows that it wasn't a careless blunder, but a meditated and conscious choice.

Sitara:

I just realized something.

We were brought up in a culture that values universal human freedom, equality, and rights. It can't be wrong to break oneself free from any bondage, to become an independent person who charts her own course, sets her own goals, and seeks her own destiny. So casually I felt the couple's choice was a rise of humanity rather than a fall.

But thinking deeper, I realize it's a right idea applied to a wrong case. Our culture upholds the universal values of rights and liberty against an implicit power party that's our equal. They're fellow humans who, in the best case of democracy, are given a temporary license to rule with the best intention for real benefits of the people who consent to the exercise of their power.

Not so in this case, the power party is our benevolent Maker who owns us. He has no need to be satisfied and yet provides everything we need. He alone knows our best interests and has infinite resources for our eternal benefits. We're not equal. Unplugging ourselves from him is really as bad as death.

Nathan:

A very good remark indeed.

Sitara:

Could their responsibility be at least partly excused for not knowing the consequences beforehand?

Nathan:

They knew God's love and his word, and that was enough to obey their Maker. He certainly doesn't want our obedience out of fear of consequences. Our obedience must be out of love and willful submission.

Sitara:

Can we really resist temptation? Are humans doomed to fall when tempted?

Nathan:

The fall was not due to any limitation in the original human nature, but simply a wrong choice made by individuals who had the ability to exercise free will. Jesus proved this. He stood the test in his full humanity after being tempted for forty days in the wilderness. [Note 7 ]

FOOTNOTES:

  1. Genesis 2:19-20. [Back ]
  2. Proverbs 21:1. [Back ]
  3. Genesis 2:8-9. [Back ]
  4. Genesis 2:15-17. [Back ]
  5. Deuteronomy 1:39. [Back ]
  6. 1 Peter 5:8. [Back ]
  7. Matthew 4:1-11. [Back ]
     

Read Onspacer::spacerBUY NOW
Prefacespacer::spacer01spacer::spacer02spacer::spacer03spacer::spacer04spacer::spacer05
Core Beliefs

[ Top of Page ]


Copyright © 2018 Vitus L.H. Chak
All Rights Reserved